oru dheivam thantha poove…

For the very first time when I heard the song “oru dheivam thantha poove” from the film kanathil muthamital, I used to wonder, “how can a child possess extremely contradictory nature/ qualities”?  I got my answers when I become a mom. My 19 months old son showed the true meaning for this song.Those who do not know about this song, it’s a song about a child  sung from a parent perspective. It has been magically, beautifully and serenely composed (by A.R.R), written (Vairamuthu) and sung (by Chinmayi & Jayachandran). Now coming back to the lyrics, From my perception the below mentioned lyrics from this song sounded like a  perfect oxymoron.

Ènathu Šelvam Nee, Ènathu Varumai Nee
Kidaitha Kavithai Nee, Yezhuthu Pizhayum Nee
Iraval Velicham Nee, Iravin Kanneer Nee
Yenathut Vaanam Nee, Izhantha Širagum Nee
Naan Thøøki Valartha Thuyaram Nee

I would say all these lines would be apt to describe my feelings about my son.When my son:

  • makes cuddling gestures
  • smile , laugh
  • utters a new word
  • dance to the beat
  • mimics me
  • seeks for me
  • modulate his voice to say something sweet or sing
  • finish his puzzle
  • hugs,kiss me

the list from my joyful and prideful motherhood moments will go on and these moments keep me in cloud nine. But when he starts to do mischievous activities or act like a brat my patience will go for a toss. Sometimes I couldn’t withstand his naughtiness , I will be a serene person for a while and once my threshold has crossed, I will go crazy and burst out.  Guess the lyricist vairamuthu would have thought, a Child is a bundle of everything and wrote such amazing and contradicting lines. Indeed it is true, my son makes me happy as well as makes me cry. He is my sky where I can stretch out my wings and sometimes he is my cage too.  :). As mentioned in the song a child will have contradicting nature and I am cherishing it. I believe the bundle of opposite natures (e.g: happy and sad) keeps you balanced, strong, determined, patient and humble person.

About shobz

Fun loving and amicable person. Neither an extrovert nor an introvert. Enjoy reading books. Mostly, attracted to health related articles. Passionate about music. Have a long time desire “to sing at a concert”. Striving to be an exuberant and straight forward person. saying that inspire me ” Instead of expecting a miracle; Be the Miracle”.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to oru dheivam thantha poove…

  1. Raji MKSamy says:

    I couldn’t agree any more though I don’t have any direct experience. Romba azhage eludhirukke Shobana. When Sajeev grows up, show him this post – Smiles will be a response for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

