New year Resolutions…

I have happened to read a post about “New year resolution” in “Zenhabits” blog. Few lines from that post:

“we’re finishing 2013 — what new habits will you have then?You can take the usual approach and make a bunch of New Year’s resolutions, and fail at pretty much all of them. Or you can focus on one habit a month, and use proven techniques to make them stick.

The repercussions of that post were thought-provoking and it gave me a new dimension to stick to new year resolution.  Instead of following all the resolutions at once , I have decided to introduce one at a time for each month and focus on one habit a month. Also, I can come up with facile strategy to stick with my resolutions. At the end of 2014 , I would have acquired 12 new life changing habits. Here is my plan:

  1. January -> Work out for 20 to 30 mins (at least thrice in a week)
  2. February  ->  Wake up early in the morning at least by 7 or 7.30 ( I know, 7.30 is not early but I am a night owl and I stay up late @ night till 12.30 0r 1.00. My Biorhythm got to be adjusted then only I can be an Early bird 🙂 )
  3. March -> Eat a fruit Daily. Or Take half fistful of nuts /dry fruits.
  4. April -> De-clutter and organize. My house always get cluttered frequently, I got to come up with a plan to de-clutter and be a well-organized person.
  5. May -> Meditate at least for 10 to 15 mins.
  6. June -> spend time to sing. I am very passionate about music but I haven’t spent productive time for singing.
  7. July -> Play Badminton at least twice in a week.
  8. August -> Read books. I was a voracious reader once, now I seldom read. Got to bring back my reading habit.
  9. September ->  cook new cuisine/ new food at least  fortnightly.
  10. October -> Learn to eat with chopstick. I get fascinated when I see someone eats with a chopstick. Hope, I could eat at least vegetables using chopsticks (in a month).
  11. November  ->  Let go of expectations.
  12. December -> Be optimistic

In the past, I have always failed to stick with three resolutions 1) wake up early 2) De-cluttering 3) Daily work out . Focusing on one habit per month might make me to get the hang of it. Hopefully by year-end, I will get habituated to 12 new habits.

About shobz

Fun loving and amicable person. Neither an extrovert nor an introvert. Enjoy reading books. Mostly, attracted to health related articles. Passionate about music. Have a long time desire “to sing at a concert”. Striving to be an exuberant and straight forward person. saying that inspire me ” Instead of expecting a miracle; Be the Miracle”.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New year Resolutions…

  1. Raji MKSamy says:

    Nice list! I always believe in start small and make progress consistently. I am sure you can stick to the habits if you are mindful of it.

    On a different note, your writing and thoughts have matured a lot. Keep writing and keep the positivity and maturity within you always.

    Best wishes to fulfill all the 12 habit list in 2014! Happy New Year!a

Leave a Reply

