I think I can dance….

Last Sunday, we had a get together a.k.a Pot luck for pongal festival.  In that, Me and my friend Abi gave a 4 mins dance performance. Abi is a great dancer and she is the one, who took initiative for our performance, when she asked me “are you ready to perform in the pongal pot luck?” , I pondered upon few things , 1) I have a very active toddler at my home, Having him around, Will I be able to make room for my dance learning sessions?. 2) I am not a natural dancer and so far I have danced only easy moves, will I be able to learn tough dance moves or different dance styles? . 3) whether my hubby will be supportive ?. Having thought about all these I was in a dilemma whether to go for it or not but my inner voice said “Jus go ahead and give a try”. So I Listened to my inner voice and said yes.

Fortunately, my hubby was very supportive in various aspects. Especially he took care of my son when I went to learn dance steps. Now, coming back to my dance performance. As usual Abi rocked, she danced well. But, I was not satisfied with my performance , I could have done better. I was nervous (Damn stage fear) and skipped few dance moves, somehow I overcame my stage fear and started to dance for the beat but by that time the song was almost over . 😦 I received constructive feedback as well as diplomatic criticisms.

Here are the comments that I received:

  1. Few dance moves were out of sync and later on you were doing good.
  2. Lack of practice I presume, so few of your dance moves were incomplete (which is true in a way , being a non-dancer I should have spent more time for practice)
  3. You were panting and so your dance performance was not energetic.
  4. You didn’t complete the dance steps properly.
  5. Transformation from one dance move to another move was not graceful.
  6. You didn’t bend well and so the dance steps were not elegant
  7. Lack of stamina.
  8. Your co-dancer moves were better than yours.
  9. Wrong choice of song for the dance.

Hmm, though few comments were hurting and disappointing, I didn’t remain in the despair state for long time. I took these comments in a right spirit and decided to work on that. I have jotted down my observations from the tenure of my dance learning days to performance day:

  1. practice makes a person perfect but the practice has to be in the right way & approach (coz I learned a dance move incorrectly and was practicing the wrong steps )
  2. Learn from your mistakes and mold yourself.
  3. Know your potential (we tried spanish style dance but it was really tough , we spent more time (2 weeks) for that . later on we gave up and chose another song)
  4. Plan well. ( Till last day I was not sure about my costume)
  5. Pay attention to the teeny-weeny technique details and do lots of home work. (I should  have paid more attention to the details like step changeover, hand position, how far I should stretch /bend etc)
  6. Assess yourself ( I should have recorded my dance rehearsals and assessed my performance).
  7. Be resilient -> If something goes wrong, come back to the normal state ASAP. (During my performance I skipped few moves and immediately it was reflected in my face, which I shouldn’t have done, instead I should have continued as if nothing happened 🙂 )
  8. Enjoy whatever you do and give your 100%.
  9. Participation is more important than winning (though I didn’t receive good comments , I felt good for my participation , indeed it made me to shed few extra pounds).

Finally,  After so many years I took the initiative to dance, from my perception my overall dance performance was good but not great. I am pretty impressed with my attitude shift -> I didn’t feel bad/stressed for the negative comments instead I accepted it in the right sense. Another thing, I got to get rid of my stage fear, be it a familiar or unfamiliar audience I feel nervous, so I have decided to dance again in the forthcoming occasions. In few simple words , “I am gearing up for the next performance” :).

About shobz

Fun loving and amicable person. Neither an extrovert nor an introvert. Enjoy reading books. Mostly, attracted to health related articles. Passionate about music. Have a long time desire “to sing at a concert”. Striving to be an exuberant and straight forward person. saying that inspire me ” Instead of expecting a miracle; Be the Miracle”.
This entry was posted in reminiscence and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I think I can dance….

  1. itssooindian says:

    if this is ur first dance performance..then u where very good…nothing to criticism. really u have done a good job.

  2. Raji MKSamy says:

    One of your best posts so far. Proud of you that you tried and then reflected on the positives of it. Keep the momentum going!

Leave a Reply

